Hi All,
Our company is migrating from Windows NT to XP and in the process from
Access 97 to Access 2003.
Due to the phased rollout we are faced with a situation where some users are
still on NT while others have been fully upgraded, but all users need to use
the same Access databases.
At first we tried just opening the Access 97 databases with XP but we were
worried that some of the less computer-literate employees may click "yes" on
the "Do you want to convert this database to the latest version" prompt.
The solution we have come up with is to create an exact duplicate of the
database in XP but with all the Tables removed and relinked to the 97
version.
This solution is working well on the whole but there have been a couple of
instances where that database has required a repair.
The main problem we are still having is that my colleagues and I can no
longer make any changes to the database while there are any users in. Is
this a setting which we can change?
For instance, on 97 you could alter a form in the live database and then
save the altered form......XP doesn't seem to allow you to do that.
Any help would be massively appreciated.
Thanks in Advance,
John
Our company is migrating from Windows NT to XP and in the process from
Access 97 to Access 2003.
Due to the phased rollout we are faced with a situation where some users are
still on NT while others have been fully upgraded, but all users need to use
the same Access databases.
At first we tried just opening the Access 97 databases with XP but we were
worried that some of the less computer-literate employees may click "yes" on
the "Do you want to convert this database to the latest version" prompt.
The solution we have come up with is to create an exact duplicate of the
database in XP but with all the Tables removed and relinked to the 97
version.
This solution is working well on the whole but there have been a couple of
instances where that database has required a repair.
The main problem we are still having is that my colleagues and I can no
longer make any changes to the database while there are any users in. Is
this a setting which we can change?
For instance, on 97 you could alter a form in the live database and then
save the altered form......XP doesn't seem to allow you to do that.
Any help would be massively appreciated.
Thanks in Advance,
John
Comment